Sean walks it to claim race one victory

08/09/12 - Walkinshaw produces stunning drive to take maiden F3 Cup victory.

08/09/12 - A stunning drive from Sean Walkinshaw saw him claim another lap record and more importantly the victory in his maiden F3 Cup race at a sunny Anglesey.

The Lanan Racing man made no mistakes at the start despite stalling on the green flag lap and showed why he is a rising star in British motorsport by claiming a convincing win and a new lap record to boot. Gino Ussi pushed hard to finish second while Chris Needham just held off James Abbott for third. 

Walkinshaw had his heart in his mouth at the start when he stalled on the green flag lap, but luckily he managed to get the car going and reclaimed his pole position. He made a strong start and held the lead from the fast starting Ussi into turn one, but it was Chris Needham, who made the best start. The Lnachashire man stormed down the inside of Mark Harrison, Tristan Cliffe and James Abbott to grab third. 

Championship leader Cliffe lost a position at the start but he soon took it back with a pass on Harrison coming out of Church on the opening lap. The move proved to be the final bit of action for Harrison as he retired with engine difficulties.

Meanwhile at the front Walkinshaw began to open up a lead from Ussi and Cliffe and Abbott began to reel in Needham in third. The trio of cars produced plenty of excitement with all three drivers trying their best to grab third position, but this allowed Ussi and Walkinshaw to find themselves in clear air. 

Chris Dittmann Racing's Prajesh Shah settled into the race making improvements lap upon lap which would eventually reward him with a time good enough for third on the grid in race two.

However, at the front walksinshaw continued to extend his lead and looked comfortable ahead of Ussi. All the action was happening behind with a terrific battle for third place. Abbott and Cliffe both thought they had snatched the position with lunges on Needham, but the Lancashire racer somehow managed to fend off the pair.

The trio went three wide at Rocket on the penultimate lap but once again Needham held on. In the end Walkinshaw took the flag and a new racing lap record of 1.21.287s, finishing ahead of Ussi. Needham just held off Abbott by a tenth of a second with Cliffe fifth, Shah sixth and Karaskas seventh.  

A delighted Walkinshaw said: "It was a great race. I managed to get the car off the line which was a bit of a worry and managed to pull a gap to take the win. It was a fun race and I really enjoyed driving an F3 car."  

Ussi admitted he was slighlty disappointed despite finishing second, he said: "I'm pleased to get second and bag points for the championship but we just can't find the pace in the car we had last time here. I'm well off of that pace so it is frustrating."

Needham was throughly pleased to be back on the poidum, he said: "I've been here before and been quick here. I got a fantastic start and just had a good race really. There were some good battles out there but I just did enough for the podium and it is nice to be back there again."           

F3 Cup Anglesey Race 1

1. Sean Walkinshaw (Cup) Lanan Racing, 15 laps  
2. Gino Ussi (Cup) Grays Motorsport, +17.713s 
3. Chris Needham, (Cup) +22.236s 
4. James Abbott, (Cup) Radical, +22.396s
5. Tristan Cliffe, (Cup) Omicron Motorsport, 
6. Prajesh Shah, Chris Dittmann Racing (Cup) 
7. Dave Karaskas, Dave Karaskas Racing (Masters) 

DNF Mark Harrison, (Cup) Magic Motorsport