Season's Greetings from MSVR

23/12/2012 - As we prepare to say goodbye to 2012 it seems appropriate to reflect on another superb year of competition at MotorSport Vision Racing.

23/12/2012 - As we prepare to say goodbye to 2012 it seems appropriate to reflect on another superb year of competition at MotorSport Vision Racing.      

MSVR has welcomed countless competitors who have driven the length & breadth of the country to take part in our events and enjoy motorsport. Despite a challenging economic environment, our various championships and series have produced bumper grids and terrific racing highlighting that the club motorsport scene is very much alive and in good health.  

This year we witnessed thrilling racing at the UK's premier circuits with the majority of our championships and series only being decided at the final meeting of the year, such was the competitiveness shown in 2012.  

F3 Cup's first year as a championship was one of the many success stories this year. We welcomed 42 drivers to the championship and a thoroughly entertaining battle for the title unfolded. In the end, Chris Dittmann came through a three-way scrap to become the inaugural champion.  

MSVR presented an entirely new event in the form of the Brands Hatch Mini Festival on June 16/17. The event celebrated all things Mini and it was fantastic sight to see so many Minis both old and new descend upon the circuit. As ever the Minis produced gripping entertainment on the track too and we are delighted to announce that the event will return on June 22/23 in 2013.              

2012 Champions: 

GT Cup Championship: Derek Johnston  
F3 Cup: Chris Dittmann  
MK2 Golf GTI Championship: Jamie Martin  
VAG Trophy: Paul Taylor  
Lotus Cup UK Supersport: Steve Train  
Lotus Cup UK Production: Rob Boston  
MINI Challenge: Henry Gilbert  
Production BMW Championship: Ben Winrow  
Radical Clubman's Cup: Bradley Smith  
Radical UK Cup: Colin Noble  
Radical European Masters: Konstantin Calko  
SPEED Euroseries: Ivan Bellarossa  
Monoposto Championship:2000: Malcolm Scott:Classic:Jim Blockley:1800:Ewen Sergison:1600:Nigel Davers:Moto Mono:Adrian Wright  

I would like to say well done to you all and a huge thanks to all competitors, event officials and the hardworking coordinators! I would also like to pay tribute to our band of dedicated volunteer marshals without whom none of this would be possible. I would also like to thank the media for all their efforts this year.   

I would like to add my personal thanks to the dedicated Senior Officials team that give their time to assist with the running of the MSVR race meetings and to the small team at Brands Hatch, David Willey, Simon Gnana-Pragasam, Alex Shaw, Joe East and Tom Howard.  

Preparations are well under way for the 2013 season which will be equally as exciting. We will welcome the brand new BRDC Formula 4 championship which promises to be a new and exciting concept to help aspiring young single seater racers on the path to Formula One.  

The Radical SR1 Cup will join us in 2013 too. This new one make championship aims to help young Sportscar racers right through the process of gaining their race licence to taking to the track in competition for the first time.  

Ariel Atoms will race for the first time in the UK courtesy of the Atom Cup. These cars have become a road going icon in recent years, but it will be interesting to see them race, bringing a new manufacturer into motorsport in the process. So there is plenty to look forward to next year.        

I do hope that you have all enjoyed your motorsport with MSVR this year and hope to see you all at our events in 2013.  

I wish you all a very Happy Christmas and healthy, happy and a safe 2013.  

David Scott  

Race Operations Manager  

MotorSport Vision Racing