Powell doubles up at Oulton Park

Alice Powell claimed another win in today’s second F3 Cup race, but this time around it was a less straightforward affair.

Alice Powell claimed another win in today's second F3 Cup race, but this time around it was a less straightforward affair.

The former GP3 racer was out-dragged off the line by fellow front-row starter Alex Craven, and despite an attempt to pass half way round the lap, her attempts to make an immediate move were halted when the safety car was brought out after a first corner incident involving Chris Needham, Olly Rae and Dave Karaskas. All three were able to continue, although Rae was forced into retirement in the pits.

Tristan Cliffe, who started fourth then dropped to the back of the field when he was forced into taking avoiding action at Deer Leap as cars in front slowed for the safety car. This though resulted in an impressive recovery drive to seventh place.

Back at the front, Powell forced her way into the lead at Shell Oils hairpin on lap six, and then proceeded to stretch her advantage in similar style to her earlier race one exploits, winning by 4.5 seconds.

Alex Craven held on to second, fending off the attentions of Henry Chart in third, making up for his disappointment in the earlier race with a podium finish from the back of the grid with a stirring recovery drive.

Mark Harrison had another strong showing in fourth, following up his earlier podium, while James Cross also made up for earlier misfortunes by securing a brilliant fifth place, also from the back of the grid. Robbie Watts rounded out the top six in his Raw Power Motors Dallara F306.

F3 Cup race two result, Oulton Park:

  1. Alice Powell, Mark Bailey Racing, 12 laps
  2. Alex Craven, Lanan Racing, +4.584s
  3. Henry Chart, Enigma Motorsport, +11.049s
  4. Mark Harrison, Magic Motorsport, +23.605s
  5. James Cross, AW Tracksport, +23.747s
  6. Robbie Watts, Raw Power Motors, +24.936s
  7. Tristan Cliffe, Omicron Motorsport, +28.667s
  8. Gino Ussi, Lanan Racing, +1 lap
  9. Neil Harrison, Magic Motorsport, +1 laps
  10. Nick Robinson, Peformance Packaging, +1 lap