Dominant Snetterton pole for Henry Chart

Henry Chart dominated qualifying to take pole for round 15 on a tricky and damp Snetterton track.

Enigma Motorsport's Henry Chart dominated qualifying to take pole for round 15 on a tricky and damp Snetterton track.

Alice Powell was his nearest challenger but ended the session over one second back, despite a late charge. Louis Hamilton-Smith lines up third after briefly being dislodged by the returning Aaron Steele, who starts fourth.

Tristan Cliffe's session ended early due to a dislodged oil pipe, leaving him fifth on the grid. Nick Robinson, in sixth, improved late in the session to shave a few seconds from the gap to championship runner-up Cliffe. Geoffrey Hoodless, in the Masters 96 Class, starts seventh ahead of Oliver Rae, who spun out of the session on the damp track at Murrays on
his first flying lap.

Chart spent the whole of the session on top of the timesheets, and could even afford to sit out the final five minutes of qualifying. Powell gave him a scare, halving the gap with her penultimate lap and was set to snatch pole before a mistake forced her to abort the lap. Chart had a moment of his own midway through qualifying, forcing him through the pits
to clear the grass from his sidepods.

Hamilton-Smith edged nearer to Powell but couldn't bridge the gap, while Cup Class lap record-holder Steele pitted late in the session and didn't make it back out in time set a time. The session was his first since racing in F3 Cup at Spa in 2012.

Cliffe's wretched Snetterton luck continues, having finished only once in his previous four appearances at his home circuit.

Snetterton is the scene of Chart's win in the championship, and he's well placed to claim his first victory of the season.

Round 15 qualifying classification

  1. Henry Chart - Enigma Motorsport - 1:52.895s
  2. Alice Powell - Gale Force Racing - +1.229s
  3. Louis Hamilton-Smith  - Jigsaw Motorsport - +2.519s
  4. Aaron Steele - Grays Motorsport - +4.988s
  5. Tristan Cliffe - Omicron Motorsport - +6.294s
  6. Nick Robinson - Gale Force Racing - +9.248s
  7. Geoffrey Hoodless  (Masters 96 Class) - Privateer - +23.205s
  8. Oliver Rae (Trophy 01 Class) - Enigma Motorsport - no time set


Rounds 15 starts at 15:55. Follow @F3Cup for live updates and like /F3Cup on Facebook