Lloyd dominates as Sowery takes first win as champion

Toby Sowery took his win tally into double figures to celebrate his championship win in the perfect fashion.

Toby Sowery took his win tally into double figures to celebrate his championship win in the perfect fashion, as Hywel Lloyd streaked away out in front on a damp Silverstone track in the Invitation Class.

The conditions caught out many, but Henry Chart took an eventual third on the road and second in the points despite spinning from the front of the Cup Class. Louis Hamilton-Smith collected another Class podium in fourth place. Stuart Wiltshire's fine start gave him fifth and fourth in class ahead of Tony Bishop.

It didn't all go the newly-crowned champion's way, stalling on the grid to fall back into the pack. He quickly passed Hamilton-Smith, and was promoted to third when Cliffe spun from second-place back to fifth.

The spin handed second to Chart, who also spun on the approach to the grid, and Sowery made his move for the class lead at Luffield. Two corners later, Chart was back in front and second place when Sowery made his first mistake of the season by running wide at Becketts, just avoiding the gravel trap.

Chart ran wide at Luffield a few laps later, holding on to second place from Sowery, but when he repeated that a lap later, Sowery made his way through and into second. Chart returned to the track in fifth, behind the close Hamilton-Smith and Cliffe battle.

That battle came to a head five laps from the end as Cliffe made his move at Brooklands. He spun, forcing Hamilton-Smith into evasive action, deciding the safest route was off the circuit. He inherited second, albeit only briefly as Chart caught and breezed past an ailing Hamilton-Smith to return to second in class.

Wiltshire closed in on Hamilton-Smith, but couldn't bridge the gap. Wiltshire and Bishop had been comfortable in fifth and sixth all race, lapping similarly although five seconds apart. Mark Harrison cleared Lee Morgan and Jonathan Weston-Taylor to take seventh, with Morgan eighth and Weston-Taylor ninth. Nick Robinson rounded out the top 10 after a late spin of his own.

Round 14 classification 

  1. Hywel Lloyd - CF Racing - 20 laps
  2. Toby Sowery - Lanan Racing - +18.455s
  3. Henry Chart - Enigma Motorsport - +43.649s
  4. Louis Hamilton-Smith - Jigsaw Motorsport - +53.620s
  5. Stuart Wiltshire - Gale Force Racing - +56.632s
  6. Tony Bishop - Chris Dittmann - +1 lap
  7. Mark Harrison - Omicron Motorsport - +1 lap
  8. Lee Morgan - Grays Motorsport - +1 lap
  9. Jonathan Weston-Taylor - Stanwood Engineering - +1 lap
  10. Nick Robinson - Gale Force Racing - +2 laps

Click here for the full result