Seventh win from pole for championship leader Sowery

Toby Sowery converted his seventh pole of the year into his seventh win of the year at a sodden Oulton Park round nine.

Toby Sowery converted his seventh pole of the year into his seventh win of the year at a sodden Oulton Park round nine. A late fastest lap secured maximum points for the seventh time in 2014 too.

Cliffe made the most of a Henry Chart spin to pick up his sixth second place behind Sowery. Lee Morgan was too far back to capitalise on Chart's spin in fourth. Louis Hamilton-Smith took fifth, passing Oliver Rae on the final lap, who later slowed due to a battery issue. That slowing offered up sixth to Mark Harrison, but Rae held on in seventh from Stuart Wiltshire by coasting over the line.

Jonathan Weston-Taylor took ninth with Nick Robinson 10th after Oliver Striling retired on his debut.

Inclement weather forced the race to start behind the safety car after a day of pouring rain. When the lights went out, Chart shadowed Sowery as he shot off but behind, Cliffe made short work of Morgan. Cliffe positioned his car on the inside of Old Hall and moved into the podium places.

On the chase to Chart, Cliffe missed the chicane twice in two laps but soon started pressuring Chart, who had been dropped by Sowery. The chicane was much kinder to Cliffe a few laps later as Chart spun in front of him allowing Cliffe to move into second.

The fight for fourth was three-car strong once Louis Hamilton-Smith had caught and disposed of Mark Harrison. Hamilton-Smith then set about catching the squabbling Rae and Morgan with a series of rapid laps but Morgan held on. After losing out to Hamilton-Smith on the final lap, Rae's car fell foul of bad luck and he coasted home.

Harrison capitalised to pick up a top six finish but as Rae rolled home, Wiltshire agonisingly missed out on seventh by just a few tenths. Jonathan Weston-Taylor, after starting from the pitlane, was promoted to second-in-class when Stirling spun and returned to the pits two laps from the end. 

As Cliffe set about Sowery he was denied fastest lapand that extra point ensured Sowery took maximum points for the seventh time this year.

Round nine classification

  1. Toby Sowery - Lanan Racing - 11 laps
  2. Tristan Cliffe - Omicron Motorsport - +9.886s
  3. Henry Chart - Enigma Motorsport - +23.399s
  4. Lee Morgan - Grays Motorsport - +27.573s
  5. Louis Hamilton-Smith - Jigsaw Motorsport - +30.002s
  6. Mark Harrison - Omicron Motorsport - +38.244s
  7. Oliver Rae - Enigma Motorsport - +54.279s
  8. Stuart Wiltshire - Gale Force Racing - +54.611s
  9. Jonathan Weston-Taylor - +1:35.212s
  10. Nick Robinson - Gale Force Racing - +1:50.873s


Round 10 takes place at 17.05 today. Follow @F3Cup for live updates.