Sowery survives Silverstone shower for perfect record

Toby Sowery’s perfect season continued at round three from Silverstone, leading from lights-to-flag for his third win of the season.

Toby Sowery's perfect season continued at round three from Silverstone, leading from lights-to-flag for his third win of the season.

Henry Chart battled to second, driving in the Trophy 01 Class car of absent team-mate Oliver Rae, passing Louis Hamilton-Smith on the final lap. Mark Harrison came through from the second-to-last row to pick up fourth under increasing pressure from Lee Morgan as rain fell.

Cliffe had the best of the starts, jumping from fourth on the grid to second as Morgan struggled off the line. Chart moved into third but couldn't stop Cliffe following Sowery into Copse. Hamilton-Smith struggled away too, but he was quickly back up to fifth and then picked his way into fourth ahead of Lee Morgan a lap later.

Toby Sowery had stretched away in front, crossing the line 2.8-seconds clear of Tristan Cliffe on the opening lap. Cliffe began to peg Sowery just before the rain came, and the Lanan racer survived a slide at Vale. Cliffe behind suffered a worse fate, spinning off the track in the wet. A later spin at Abbey due to an as-yet-unknown car issue dropped him back to eighth.

The spin promoted a misfire-addled Hamilton-Smith into second, who had Chart still hounding him in third. Enigma Motorsport's Chart was rewarded on the final lap with a pass at Vale as Hamilton-Smith's misfire grew increasingly worse. 

Mark Harrison reeled in Lee Morgan and soon slipped into fifth, which became fourth when his team-mate Cliffe spun. But as the rain fell, Morgan closed back onto the tail of Harrison crossing the line glued to the gearbox of the Omicron racer and covered by 0.3s.

Stuart Wiltshire rounded out the top six ahead of Tony Bishop, who had earlier passed Nick Robinson for eighth. Robinson pitted soon after, just before the rain.

Sowery also claimed fastest lap to ensure he continues his run of starting every F3 Cup race of 2014 on pole, Cliffe starts alongside him on the front row. Henry Chart and Louis Hamilton-Smith comprise row two.

Round three top six result

  1. Toby Sowery - Lanan Racing - 10 laps
  2. Henry Chart - Enigma Motorsport - +24.844
  3. Louis Hamilton-Smith - Jigsaw Motorsport - +28.995
  4. Mark Harrison - Omicron Motorsport - +51.015
  5. Lee Morgan - Grays Motorsport - +51.351
  6. Stuart Wiltshire - Gale Force Racing - +1:11.359


Click here to view the full result

Round four takes place at 11:50 on Sunday. Follow @F3Cup for live updats.