Hamilton-Smith victorious in race one

Race one of the weekend for F3 Cup took place in the early evening sunshine, at a bright and warm Brands Hatch Indy circuit.

Race one of the weekend for F3 Cup took place in the early evening sunshine, at a bright and warm Brands Hatch Indy circuit. It was Aaron Steele who lined up on pole position, with Louis Hamilton-Smith second on the grid and Jacopo Sebastiani third. Henry Chart was unable to take the start, as his problems from the morning qualifying session persisted.

As the lights went out, a great start from Louis Hamilton-Smith propelled him straight into the lead ahead of pole sitter Steele. Ashley Crossey was unfortunate to stall on the grid and drop to the back of the field. Another to drop down the order was Tony Bishop, who fell behind Stuart Wiltshire and Daniel Tapinos.

The battle for the lead raged on for a number of laps, as Aaron Steele continued to follow Hamilton-Smith, with just 0.3 seconds between them. In his attempt to break away from the second place man, Hamilton-Smith set the fastest lap of the race on lap 8. However, he was unable to shake off the persistent Steele. Behind the top two, Omicron Motorsport driver Jacopo Sebastiani sat relatively comfortably in third, while the fast starting Stuart Wiltshire held on to fourth place. 

More action came in the dice for fifth, sixth and seventh places. Daniel Tapinos and Tony Bishop ran closely for a number of laps, until the recovering Ashley Crossey joined in on the action with four minutes remaining. Crossey closed in and made a move on Bishop to take sixth place, and the trio ran nose to tail for the remainder of the race.

Up front, Steele was unable to find a way past Hamilton-Smith, who crossed the line to take the victory by just 0.15 seconds at the chequered flag. Jacopo Sebastiani completed the podium ahead of Wiltshire and Tapinos. Ashley Crossey was the first of the Trophy class competitors, taking a strong class victory ahead of Lee McCrumlish.


F3 Cup Rounds 6-8, Brands Hatch Indy - Race 1 Classification


  1. Louis Hamilton-Smith, Dallara F306 - 21 Laps
  2. Aaron Steele, Dallara F307         +0.150
  3. Jacopo Sebastiani, Dallara F311     +7.805
  4. Stuart Wiltshire, Dallara F308     +16.761
  5. Daniel Tapinos, Dallara F311      +30.701
  6. Ashley Crossey, Dallara F301    +30.847
  7. Tony Bishop, Dallara F307         +31.517
  8. Frank Thomas, Dallara F305/06  +1 Lap
  9. Lee McCrumlish, Dallara F301    +3 Laps
  10. Henry Chart, Dallara F305          DNS