2016 F3 Cup winners crowned at Brands Hatch

MSVR's F3 Cup and GT Cup championships combined forces once again on Saturday (28 January) to celebrate their 2016 champions.

MSVR's F3 Cup and GT Cup championships combined forces once again on Saturday (28 January) to celebrate their 2016 champions. A glittering gala evening at the MotorSport Vision Centre, Brands Hatch saw the winners honoured in fine style, after exciting seasons for both championships.

After a champagne reception and exquisite three course meal, Alan Hyde hosted the awards presentation, with GT Cup starting the celebrations. GTA Group winner Daniel O'Brien was joined by runner up Esmee Hawkey and third place Brent Millage on stage, while GTB and GTC winners Tom & James Webb and Paul Bailey & Andy Schulz were also presented with their respective group winner trophies. The full podium of GTO drivers was present, winner Jordan Witt joined by Kevin Riley & Gareth Downing and Nigel Hudson & Adam Wilcox.

Chris Haynes, brother of Marc (founder of Bute Motorsport and the GT Cup championship), paid a touching tribute to his brother who sadly passed away in October. Marc Haynes' determination and commitment to the championship was the driving force behind its ongoing success, and his legacy will continue in both GT Cup and his most recent brainchild, the new-for 2017 Henderson Insurance Brokers LMP3 Cup Championship.

GT Cup's 2016 Team Trophy was awarded to JMH Automotive, with the overall championship honours going to Jordan Witt, after a string of victories in his stunning Jordan Racing Bentley Continental GT3.

As the focus shifted to F3 Cup, championship coordinator Simon Davey reviewed an exciting climax to the season; going into the final round at Snetterton in October, any of seven drivers were in contention for the title. The Cup Class winners were first to be welcomed on stage - George Line was joined by runner up Shane Kelly, who lost out by just a single point in the standings, and third place Daryl Jones.

CF Racing dominated the year, and rightfully picked up the Teams' Champion trophy. Team boss Hywel Lloyd is looking forward to another successful year as his burgeoning list of drivers is joined by Stuart Wiltshire and Jacopo Sebastiani in 2017.

F3 Cup's 2016 Champion was the final award of the night, presented to George Line. After a successful debut campaign, Line wins an IWI watch, Radical test drive, two PalmerSport days and a £200 Stand 21 voucher.

A surprise at the end of the awards presentation was the announcement of a new prize drive for 2017 - this year's F3 Cup champion will win an exclusive test in a Ligier LMP3 car, in partnership with the Ligier UK distributor. Full details on this stunning prize will be released later this week.

The 2017 season is already shaping up well for both championships - for more details, please visit the GT Cup and F3 Cup websites.

Click here  to view additional photos from the night (credit: JDH Motorsport Photography).