Battles in Belgium

An eventful second race at Spa today lead to a mixed bag of outcomes for the F3 Cup grid

An eventful second race at Spa today lead to a mixed bag of outcomes for the F3 Cup grid. The race got off to a clean start initially, with everyone clearing the first corner at La Source, but on the approach down to Eau Rouge the first of the race's victims was taken as Daryl Jones and Shane Kelly made contact. Kelly spun, and then collided with the barriers on the opposite side of track damaging the UWR Dallara and forcing him into retirement. The Safety Car was deployed while his car was recovered.

When the race resumed Watts was in control, with Jones and Wiltshire behind. He didn't hold the lead for long however, as he found himself facing the wrong way on his next visit to La Source, though he was able to keep the car going and rejoin the race further down the pack. After lap four, Wiltshire had the lead ahead of Heffernan and Sebastiani.

Watts had to take avoiding action on the next lap when approaching back markers at Les Combes, and unfortunately ended up making contact with the tyre wall which ended his race. Soon after, Jacopo Sebastiani also met the wall, damaging the rear quarter of his Dallara and forcing another Safety Car deployment.

When the Safety Car was called in there were just a few minutes remaining, but that was enough for both Wiltshire and Heffernan to step up the pace; indeed, Heffernan posted the fastest race lap of the weekend. At the chequered flag, Stuart Wiltshire claimed the win, his first ever, ahead of Heffernan and Jones.

The IWI Watches Fastest Lap Award goes to James Heffernan for his 2:19.571 in Race Two, and the Sunoco Driver of the Weekend Award was presented to Malcolm Scott.

F3 Cup's next round is at Oulton Park on 16 July.


F3 Cup, Spa-Francorchamps Race Two (26 June 2016)

  1. Stuart Wiltshire - Dallara F308 10 laps
  2. James Heffernan - Dallara F308 +0.390
  3. Daryl Jones - Dallara F308 +1.535
  4. George Line - Dallara F308 +3.153
  5. Malcolm Scott - Dallara F306 +17.287
  6. Tim Buckley - Dallara F304 DNF
  7. Jacopo Sebastiani - Dallara F311 DNF
  8. Robbie Watts - Dallara F308 DNF
  9. Shane Kelly - Dallara F308 DNF
  10. Tony Bishop - Dallara F310 DNF